High School: The Best Four Years of Your Life

Right?  Okay, maybe not.

There are so many different types of high schoolers that you could be, and each one has their own high school experience.

You could be the popular jock/cheerleader type: everyone’s your friend, or at least they want to be; you speak to everyone and don’t hold anything back.

You could be the moody, brooding artsy type: you doodle in your notebook; you really only speak when you’re in drama class or when you’re telling your handful of friends about this new band you’re listening to.

You could be the nerdy, book-worm type: you don’t talk during class unless to answer the question that the teacher asks; most people talk to you to get help on their homework; your real friends are the other nerdy book worms because they understand you.

You could even be the wallflower type: you sit in the back corner, maybe paying attention, maybe completely zoned out; you only speak when you’re spoken to; you may only have a few friends, but the ones you have are real, and they get you.

You might fit perfectly in to one of those categories.  You could be reading this right now and thinking “Yes, Megan. That is me, 100%.”  Or you could look at those categories and think “Wait, I’m multiple of those.”  You could even be one that I didn’t list, and that’s okay.  No matter what type of high schooler you are, you have your view of high school.  Maybe you think it’s the best. You don’t want it to end.  Maybe you’ve had senioritis since the first day of freshman year.  Graduation cannot get here fast enough.

No matter your high school experience, you probably view high school as either the best or worst four years of your life.  You’ve probably even heard upperclassmen or graduated students tell you that high school is the best four years of your life.  They’ve probably told you that as soon as you graduate, you’ll want to come back.

Now, I can’t say for certain if high school will be the best four years of my life because I have so many more years ahead of me, but I can make a pretty close guess.  I started high school at a new school, so it was a new experience for me.  Not only did I have to adjust to high school life (which was awkward enough on its own), I had to adjust to new people.

Now, you might be the type of person who has no problem making friends and loves the opportunity to do so.  If that’s you, you’re probably thinking something along the lines of “Megan, that’s no big deal. Come on.”  Looking back on it today, I realize that you’re completely right.  But freshman Megan?  She definitely thinks you’re wrong.

You see, I’ve struggled with social anxiety for most of my life.  Couple that with my knowing absolutely no one, and you get a silent little Meg that went through her first two and a half years of high school with no friends– I mean, legitimately zero.

I still remember lying in bed each night praying that God would speed up time so that I could graduate and get out of high school.  But I promise you, this is not just some sad sob story about the nerd with no friends.

Last year, I found the me that God intended me to be.  I figured out that in worrying about what everyone else thought of me, I wasn’t being me.  I found my voice and learned how to speak up.  It’s honestly made all of the difference.  If you were to ask anyone who knows me now, they would tell you that I have no problem speaking my mind or letting my opinion be known.  I’ve even been called “sassy” more times this year than I have been in any other point in my life.

My main point in all of this is to tell you that high school probably won’t be what I consider the best four years of my life, but it’s not the worst either.  I’ve loved high school, but as much as I’ve loved it, I’ve hated it just as much.  For every terrible moment that I’ve endured, I’ve endured an equally amazing moment that I’ll keep with me.  I found myself in high school.  I learned how to be me.

I spent all those nights wishing away my high school experience– praying for graduation.  Now, graduation is almost here, and all I’m praying for time to slow down a little bit!  I think my boy Nathan Scott from One Tree Hill said it best: “It’s the oldest story in the world.  One day you’re seventeen and praying for someday, and then quietly, without you ever really noticing, someday is today, and that someday is yesterday, and this is your life.”

High school might not be the best four years of your life.  After you graduate, you might never want to return, but hear me out.  Don’t wish this away.  No matter how amazing or terrible your four years are or will be, it’s four years that you’ve spent getting ready for whatever comes next– four years that you can’t get back– four years that could positively define you.  Enjoy them.  Make the best of them.  And live in such a way that when you look back on high school, you smile.

All my love,

Megan

Leave a Reply

