The Problem with the United States of America

Now, some of you may be super patriotic and thinking, “There is no problem with America!  God Bless the United States!  USA!  USA!”  To those of you, I want to commend your patriotism and loyalty to your country, but I also want you to listen to my point.

In order for me to express what I believe to be our biggest problem as a nation, I need to express what I don’t believe to be our biggest problem.  America’s biggest problem is not the Trump Administration. America’s biggest problem is not the glass ceiling.  America’s biggest problem is not our racial or religious discriminations.  Those are all large problems that need to be discussed, but I’ll save those for another post.

America’s biggest problem is love, well, more like our lack thereof.

When I think of love, I think of sacrifice.  Now, maybe that’s just because I was raised in church and constantly told of how God showed His love for us by sending Jesus to die, but maybe not.  When I love someone, I put their needs and desires ahead of my own.  I’ll give them my jacket if their cold, even if I’m kind of chilly myself.  I’ll give them the last slice of pizza.  I’ll watch a movie that I just saw the other day if they want to watch it.  Sacrifice.

With that in mind, it should come as no surprise to you that when I think of America, I don’t think of love.  As Americans, we have freedom of speech, so we often get caught up in our own opinions.  In doing this, we refuse to accept the fact that someone else’s opinion can be right even if it’s not the same as our own.  When you love someone, you accept their opinion, and you acknowledge it.  You don’t tell them that they are wrong or worthless or try to kick them out of the country.  We are a nation divided, but Colossians 3:14 calls love the perfect bond of unity.

All of those problems that I listed in the beginning could easily be solved through love.  If we all learned to value others as more important than ourselves, we wouldn’t have to worry about the glass ceiling existing.  We wouldn’t have racial or religious discrimination.  Currently, America’s a mess, and it seems that the entire nation is constantly at war with itself.  But imagine if we all just stopped arguing and actually listened to what everyone else had to say.  That sounds like a country that loves to me.

And here’s a few bible verses to close out because why not. 🙂

John 15:17

This is what I command you: Love one another.

Romans 12:10

Be devoted to one another in love.  Honor one another above yourselves.

I Corinthians 13:4-8a

Love is patient, love is kind.  Love does not envy, is not boastful, is not conceited, does not act improperly, is not selfish, is not provoked, and does not keep a record of wrongs.  Love finds no joy in unrighteousness but rejoices in the truth.  It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.  Love never ends.

I Corinthians 16:14

Your every action must be done with love.

Galatians 5:14

For the entire law is fulfilled in one statement: Love your neighbor as yourself.

All my love,

Megan

 

Leave a Reply

